Located in western Abu Dhabi, Shams 1 was the largest renewable energy project in operation in the Middle East when launched in 2013. It occupies 2.5 square kilometres and has a capacity of 100 megawatts. The solar field has 768 parabolic trough collectors to generate clean, renewable electricity.

Concentrated solar power generates electricity from the heat of the sun rather than sunlight, as is the case with solar photovoltaic technology. Parabolic trough systems use solar thermal collectors in the form of parabolic mirrors, with a central tube to concentrate the heat from direct solar irradiation. The heat in turn produces steam to drive a conventional turbine, ultimately generating electricity.

Shams 1 directly contributes toward Abu Dhabi’s target of 7 percent power-generation capacity via renewable energy by the year 2020. The plant also is helping the United Arab Emirates diversify its energy mix and reduce the country’s carbon footprint. The plant displaces about 175,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide per year, which is equivalent to planting 1.5 million trees or removing 15,000 cars from Abu Dhabi’s roads.

Shams 1 is one of several projects in Masdar’s domestic portfolio. For more information, visit: www.shamspower.ae.

Partners

Project Info

Technologies Used
Concentrated Solar Power Parabolic Trough Tech
Location
Abu Dhabi
Project Completion Year
2013
Status
Operational

Awards

MENASOL Awards 2016

Emirates Energy Award 2013 - Large Energy Project Award - Dubai Supreme Council of Energy
  
Project of the Year Award 2013 Emirates Solar Industry Association

“Middle East Renewable Energy Deal of the year” 2010 - Project Finance Magazine

تعد محطة "شمس 1" أكبر محطة لتوليد الطاقة الشمسية المركزة قيد التشغيل في العالم.

تمتد محطة "شمس 1" على مساحة 2,5 كيلومتر مربع بقدرة إنتاجية تصل إلى 100 ميجاواط، ضمن حقل شمسي مؤلف من 768 مصفوفة من عاكسات القطع المكافئ لتجميع الطاقة الشمسية وتوليد الطاقة الكهربائية النظيفة والمتجددة.

وتقوم المحطة بتوليد الطاقة الكهربائية من حرارة الشمس وليس ضوء الشمس خلافاً لتكنولوجيا الألواح الكهروضوئية الشمسية. وهي تعتمد في آلية تشغيلها على نظم المجمعات الشمسية المكونة من مرايا خاصة على شكل قطع مكافئ تقوم بتجميع وتركيز أشعة الشمس على أنبوب مركزي ينقل الحرارة إلى مواقع تسخين تعمل على توليد البخار الذي يتولى تشغيل التوربينات التقليدية لتوليد الكهرباء في نهاية المطاف.

ومن شأن محطة "شمس 1" أن تساهم بشكل فاعل في تحقيق هدف أبوظبي الرامي إلى توفير 7% من احتياجات الطاقة في الإمارة عبر مصادر متجددة بحلول عام 2020. كما تسهم المحطة في تنويع مصادر الطاقة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة؛ وتقليل البصمة الكربونية للدولة؛ وتفادي إطلاق 175 ألف طن سنوياً من غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون، أي ما يعادل زراعة 1,5 مليون شجرة أو إزالة 15 ألف سيارة من طرقات أبوظبي.

يُعد مشروع شمس 1 من بين المشاريع العديدة في محفظة مصدر المحلية. للمزيد من المعلومات، يُرجى زيارة الموقع الإلكتروني (www.shamspower.ae)

الشركاء

معلومات عن المشروع

التقنيات المستخدمة
طاقة شمسية مركزة تخزين الطاقة الحرارية
الموقع
ابوظبي
تاريخ استكمال المشروع
الحالة
جائزة ميناسول 2016

جائزة الإمارات للطاقة"" 2013 – ""أضخم مشروع للطاقة"" - المجلس الأعلى للطاقة في دبي""

جائزة ""أفضل مشروع للعام"" 2013 – ""رابطة صناعة الطاقة الشمسية الإماراتية""

جائزة ""أفضل صفقة تمويل في قطاع الطاقة المتجددة بمنطقة الشرق الأوسط"" 2010  - مجلة ""بروجكت فاينانس"".