After the successful deployment of the 15 megawatt (MW) Sheikh Zayed Solar Power Plant in Nouakchott in 2013, Masdar installed an additional 16.6MW photovoltaic (PV) projects across eight remote communities in Mauritania.
Masdar’s footprint in the country now includes a 31.6MW portfolio of renewable energy projects. Inaugurated in November 2016, the 16.6MW PV rural electrification programme was funded by the governments of Mauritania and Abu Dhabi. Following the installation of these PV plants by Masdar, the facilities are being operated by Mauritania’s national electricity provider, Société Mauritanienne d’Electricité (SOMELEC).
The plants supply up to 30 per cent of the electricity demand to the remote communities of Boutilim-it, Aleg, Aioune, Akjoujt, Atar, El Chami, Boulenour and Bani Chab, increasing local energy security by providing reliable, secure and clean electricity. In locations not currently connected to the national grid, the projects power around 39,000 homes, and also save up to approximately 10 million litres of diesel annually. The solar power plants produce 31,173 megawatt hours (MWh) of clean electricity annually and displace approximately 27,000 tonnes of carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions each year.

Project Info

Technologies Used
Solar PV
Location
Nouakchott
Project Completion Year
2016 (Inauguration)
Status
Operational

Partners

بعد نجاح تنفيذ محطة الشيخ زايد للطاقة الشمسية في نواكشوط بقدرة 15 ميجاواط في عام 2013، قامت "مصدر" بتنفيذ مشاريع إضافية للطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية بقدرة 16.6 ميجاواط في ثماني مجتمعات نائية في الجمهورية الإسلامية الموريتانية. وبذلك، تصل القدرة الإنتاجية الإجمالية لمحفظة مشاريع الطاقة المتجددة التي نفذتها "مصدر" في البلاد إلى 31.6 ميجاواط.
تم تدشين البرنامج في نوفمبر 2016، وجرى تمويل برنامج إمداد المناطق الريفية بالكهرباء عبر محطات للطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية بقدرة 16.6 ميجاواط من قبل حكومتي موريتانيا وأبوظبي في عام 2016. وعقب إتمام تركيب تلك المحطات تولت الشركة الموريتانية للكهرباء (SOMELEC)، المزود الرئيسي للكهرباء في البلاد، مهمة تشغيلها.
وتلبي هذه المحطات ما يصل إلى 30% من الطلب على الكهرباء في بوتيليميت، وأليج، وآيون، وأكجوجت، وأطار، والشامي، وبولينور، وبني تشاب التي كانت لا تصلها إمدادات شبكة الكهرباء الوطنية، مما عزز أمن الطاقة في تلك المجتمعات من خلال توفير إمدادات موثوقة وآمنة من الكهرباء النظيفة. وتعمل هذه المشاريع على تلبية احتياجات نحو 39 ألف منزل، وبالتالي تم الاستغناء عن ما يصل إلى 10 مليون لتر تقريباً من وقود الديزل. وتنتج المحطات 31173 ميجاواط ساعة من الكهرباء النظيفة سنوياً وتساهم في منع انبعاث نحو 27 ألف طن غاز ثاني أوكسيد الكربون سنوياً.

معلومات عن المشروع

التقنيات المستخدمة
الموقع
Nouakchott
تاريخ استكمال المشروع
2016
الحالة
قيد التشغيل