Located in the Sultanate of Oman, in the Dhofar Governorate, the Dhofar Wind Power Project is Masdar’s first investment in Oman’s renewable energy sector. Once completed, the Dhofar Wind Power Project will have an installed capacity of 50 megawatts, making it the first large-scale wind farm in the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) region.

Construction began in the first quarter of 2018 with the commercial operation date expected for 2019.

Funding for the project is provided by the Abu Dhabi Fund for Development (ADFD), the leading national entity for development aid.

The 50MW wind farm will help meet Oman’s growing energy demand. It will reduce domestic reliance on gas for electricity generation, which can be redirected toward more valuable industrial uses and preserve natural gas resources.

The project is being constructed in the Thumrait plateau, a region marked by high average wind speeds of up to 8 metres per second. It will employ 13 of GE’s latest wind turbines, which will increase its annual energy production and flexibility in operation.

Project Info

Technologies Used
Wind Farm
Location
Dhofar
Project Completion Year
2014
Status
Under development

Partners

تقع ""محطة ظفار لطاقة الرياح"" في محافظة ظفار بسلطنة عمان، وتمثل أول استثمار لشركة ""مصدر"" في قطاع الطاقة المتجددة العماني. وعند استكمالها، ستكون ""محطة ظفار لطاقة الرياح"" باستطاعة 50 ميجاواط، أول مشروع واسع النطاق لطاقة الرياح في منطقة الخليج العربي.

 

وقد بدأت أعمال الإنشاء في الربع الأول من عام 2018، ومن المتوقع ان تبدأ العمليات التجارية في عام 2019.

 

ويتولى صندوق أبوظبي للتنمية - بصفته مؤسسة وطنية رائدة تدعم مبادرات التطوير الاقتصادية والاجتماعية على مستوى العالم - توفير التمويل اللازم لإنشاء المحطة.

 

سوف تساهم المحطة البالغة قدرتها الإنتاجية 50 ميغاواط في تلبية احتياجات الطاقة المتنامية في عمان، والحد من الاعتماد على الوقود في توليد الكهرباء، ما يتيح الاستفادة منه في أنشطة صناعية ذات قيمة أعلى والحفاظ على مصادر الوقود الطبيعية.

 

يجري إنشاء المحطة في منطقة ثمريت التي تتميز بمعدل سرعة رياح عالٍ يصل إلى 8 أمتار في الثانية. ستتكون المحطة من 13 توربين رياح من إنتاج ""جنرال إلكتريك""، والتي تعمل على زيادة كلٍ من القدرة الإنتاجية للطاقة سنوياً والمرونة في التشغيل.

 

معلومات عن المشروع

التقنيات المستخدمة
طاقة رياح
الموقع
ظفار
تاريخ استكمال المشروع
2014
الحالة
قيد التطوير