Sustainability

Masdar City combines passive and intelligent design to showcase how an urban environment can accommodate denser populations more efficiently. The water and energy demand of the city’s buildings is 40 per cent lower than that of the average building in Abu Dhabi, and each building must meet a minimum 3 Pearl rating according to the Estidama Building Rating System, introduced by the Abu Dhabi Department of Urban Planning and Municipalities. Pearl 3 is comparable to the LEED Gold (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) international standard.

The City is a hub connecting education with research & development and business with investment. It serves as a test bed for renewable energy and technology companies in the UAE and around the world.

Master Plan

Masdar City aims to be a commercially viable city offering the highest quality of life within the lowest environmental footprint. The city is a mixed-use, sustainable community, including employment-generating land uses, residential areas, parks, plazas and neighbourhood amenities.
 
Masdar City is a free zone and an investment zone, enabling foreign ownership of property and companies, and attracting cleantech companies of all sizes and types to test, commercialise and deploy clean energy technologies.  
 
The city’s walkable environment offers multiple cleantech transit options including the Personal Rapid Transit – an internal electronic driverless mode of movement. Externally, two major Abu Dhabi networks, the Metro and the LRT are planned to pass through Masdar City.
 
Masdar City is strongly focused on sustainable development, through the reduction of demand for energy and water, and recycling and reuse of waste material particularly during the construction activities.
 
Masdar City has made ambitious commitments under Abu Dhabi’s building rating system, Estidama, targeting a minimum rating of 3-Pearls for all buildings under the Estidama Pearl Building Rating System. The city is also targeting a minimum rating of 4 Pearls for its public areas, including parks, plazas and streets, in line with the Estidama Pearl Community Rating System.
 
Ongoing growth will eventually see 52,000 people living at Masdar City, whilst 40,000 jobs and student placements will be offered.

Masdar City’s master plan is fundamental to the city’s sustainability goals. To view Masdar City’s master plan, please click here


Sustainable Buildings & Projects

Each building in Masdar City is constructed with low-carbon cement, utilises 90 per cent recycled aluminium, and is designed to reduce energy and water consumption by at least 40 per cent compared with ASHRAE standards. These criteria are set in accordance with the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certification and the UAE’s Estidama Pearl Rating System, which is administered by Abu Dhabi’s Department of Urban Planning and Municipalities. Estidama means ‘sustainability’ in Arabic. 

Sustainable Buildings

Etihad Eco-Residence
Comprising 11 buildings, the Etihad Eco-Residence is Abu Dhabi’s first purpose built LEED Platinum corporate residence for cabin crew. It comprises 500 one- and two-bedroom apartments. Each of the buildings has been designed using low carbon construction materials. Transport-related carbon emissions from building the project were further reduced thanks to the use of local suppliers.  
Incubator
Masdar City’s first office building, the Incubator Building, integrates retail and office space and houses a range of businesses including start-ups, SMEs, and the regional offices of large multinational corporations. The building uses innovative design, high performance façades, and smart shading strategies to reduce the operating costs of its tenants. 
International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA) HQ
The IRENA HQ is a 32,064-square-metre complex and the UAE’s first 4 Pearl building based on the Estidama Pearl Building Rating System. Passive design and smart-energy management systems enable the complex to consume 64% less energy than typical office buildings in Abu Dhabi.
Khalifa University of Science and Technology - Masdar City Campus
The Masdar City campus of the Khalifa University of Science and Technology (KU), is one of the city’s core tenants and plays a critical role in the research structure and culture of KU, serving as an interdisciplinary research unit focused on long-term strategic priorities. KU’s sustainability-focused research centres are primarily housed at the Masdar City campus under the Masdar Institute. As a research institute, MI also connects fundamental research with practical application through its partnership with local and international organisations, such as Masdar.  
Krypto Labs
The 4,200-square-metre facility at Masdar City is an all-in-one business incubator, accelerator and co-working space for start-ups and individual entrepreneurs from anywhere in the world who want to develop innovative products and services catering to the widest variety of industries. 
Siemens Middle East HQ
The Siemens Middle East HQ has been designed with sustainable materials and energy efficient technologies. It is Abu Dhabi’s first LEED Platinum office building and has a 3 Pearl rating under the Estidama system. 
The Accelerator Building
Strategically located and easily accessible, the Accelerator Building is located at the heart of Masdar City’s R&D cluster. It comprises three levels of 5,000 sq.m ground floor area (GFA).
The Knowledge Centre
The 900-square-metre Knowledge Centre is the gateway to the Masdar City campus of the Khalifa University of Science and Technology. Housing the campus library, the Knowledge Centre is a model of sustainable design. Its distinctive roof provides shade, minimises the structure’s cooling load, and regulates natural daylight. In addition, the building’s orientation optimises the efficiency of its rooftop solar panels. 

Green Building Prototypes

Eco-Villa Prototype
The 405-square-metre Eco-Villa is the first villa to achieve a 4 Pearl rating according to the Abu Dhabi Department of Urban Planning and Municipalities’ Estidama Pearl Building Rating System. It uses around 72 per cent less energy and 35 per cent less water than a comparably sized villa in Abu Dhabi, displacing an estimated 63 tonnes of carbon dioxide annually. The cost of construction was similar to that of a conventional home of the same size. When fully equipped with 87 rooftop solar panels, the four-bedroom property is capable of supplying as much as 40,000 kWh of electricity to the national grid.
 
Saint-Gobain Multi-Comfort Home
Due for completion by the end of 2019, Saint-Gobain’s Multi-Comfort Home will demonstrate the company’s patented technology aimed at improving health and well-being within the built environment. According to the Multi-Comfort philosophy, homes that are more comfortable make for happier and more productive people, and are more sustainable as a result. 
 
The Multi-Comfort Home at Masdar City will function as an office space and a showroom for Saint-Gobain’s products and solutions in sustainable living. It will also be a training centre. 

Renewable Energy Landmarks

Solar PV Plant
The 10-megawatt (MW) solar array at Masdar City was the largest solar project of its kind in the Middle East when launched in 2009. The facility produces about 17,500 megawatt-hours of clean electricity annually and offsets 15,000 tonnes of carbon emissions per year, which is equivalent of removing around 3,500 cars off the road. The plant consists of 87,780 multicrystalline and thin-film modules.
Wind Tower
The Masdar City Wind Tower is a contemporary interpretation of the traditional Arabic wind tower, or barjeel. At a height of 45 metres, the tower captures cooler upper-level winds and directs them to the public square at its base. Sensors at the top of the steel structure operate louvres to open in the direction of prevailing winds so as to divert wind down the tower. 

Upcoming Projects

GEMS Education
Over 4 hectares of land, offering a premium British curriculum encompassing education from primary to year 11. Approximately 2,500 students will become the community focus for the next phase of Masdar City. 
Leonardo Residences
Comprising 170 residential units, leisure amenities and basement car-parking, the Leonardo Residences is located on one of the many parks at Masdar City and is expected to be completed in summer 2018.
Majid Al Futtaim My City Centre Masdar
The 25,000 square metre ground floor area city mall will be located in the heart of Masdar City and will be anchored by a large hypermarket. The mall will provide a quality retail offering and include cafes and restaurants. The addition of a mall to the city, which is expected for completion in Q2 2019, will enhance the Masdar City visitors' experience and provide a convenient and attractive leisure option to its residents.
Masdar Institute Neighbourhood One Residences
A large mixed-use residential development at the core of the city, the Masdar Institute Neighbourhood One Residences is currently under construction and is expected to be completed in 2019. With more than more than 800 apartments built to a minimum 3 Pearl Estidama rating, the purpose-built community will be made up of apartments, offices and retail space including shops, cafés and a supermarket spread over 100,000 square metres of gross floor area (GFA).
Techno Park
The Techno Park is a platform for entrepreneurs and students to convert their innovative ideas into prototypes and products. Made out of 16 recycled shipping containers, it will offer work spaces, a training centre, as well as a shop. Fitted with state-of-the-art prototyping equipment, the park will run workshops on a wide range of practical skills and technologies, from 3D printing to electronics to carpentry. The park will open in 2018.

الاستدامة

تعد مدينة مصدر من المجمعات العمرانية الأكثر استدامة على مستوى العالم. وتعتمد المدينة نهج التصميم العمراني الذكي والفعال، والذي يظهر إمكانية التعامل مع الكثافة السكانية ضمن المجمعات الحضرية على نحو أكثر كفاءة. فالمباني مصممة بحيث ينخفض استهلاك الطاقة والمياه فيها بنسبة 40% مقارنة مع المباني العادية في أبو ظبي. كما يشترط على كل مبنى أن يحقق تصنيف "3 لآلئ" (تعادل شهادة ليد الذهبية) كحد أدنى بموجب نظام التقييم بدرجات اللؤلؤ للمباني التابع لبرنامج "استدامة" الذي أطلقه مجلس أبوظبي للتخطيط العمراني.

تعد المدينة مركزاً يربط التعليم بالبحث والتطوير والأعمال التجارية بالاستثمار. وتشكل نموذج اختبار لشركات الطاقة المتجددة والتكنولوجيا في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وحول العالم.

المخطط الرئيسي

تهدف مدينة مصدر إلى توفير فرص مجدية على الصعيد التجاري، وأعلى مستويات جودة العيش مع أقل تأثير بيئي. فتمثل المدينة مجتمعاً مستداماً متنوعاً، يضم مساحات تجارية، ومناطق سكنية، وحدائق، ومجمعات تجارية، ومرافق عامة.

وتعتبر مدينة مصدر منطقة حرة واستثمارية، حيث تتيح للأجانب تملك العقارات والشركات ضمنها، كما أنها تستقطب شركات التكنولوجيا النظيفة بمختلف أحجامها وتخصصاتها للعمل ضمنها على اختبار وتسويق ونشر تقنيات الطاقة النظيفة.

تتميز المدينة بأنها مريحة للمشاة، كما أنها توفر عدداً من خيارات النقل الصديقة للبيئة، من ضمنها "نظام النقل الشخصي السريع"، وهو عبارة عن مركبات كهربائية ذاتية القيادة. وعلى مستوى نظم النقل العامة الخارجية، من المقرر أن يمر خط المترو والقطار الخفيف من مدينة مصدر.

تولي مدينة مصدر اهتماماً كبيراً بتعزيز التنمية المستدامة، وذلك عبر خفض الطلب على الطاقة والمياه وإعادة تكرير واستخدام النفايات، خصوصاً خلال تنفيذ مشاريع الإنشاءات.

وتلتزم مدينة مصدر بتحقيق متطلبات تصنيف "3 لآلئ" كحد أدنى بموجب نظام التقييم بدرجات اللؤلؤ للمباني التابع لبرنامج "استدامة" في أبوظبي. كما تستهدف المدينة تحقيق تصنيف "4 لآلىء" كحد أدنى بالنسبة للمرافق العامة، والتي تشمل الحدائق والمجمعات التجارية والطرقات، وذلك تماشياً مع نظام التقييم بدرجات اللؤلؤ للمجتمعات السكنية التابع لبرنامج "استدامة".

وسوف تستضيف المدينة عند اكتمالها 52 ألف مقيم، إلى جانب توفير 40 ألف فرصة عمل ودراسة ضمنها.

تجسد الخطة الرئيسية لمدينة مصدر خارطة الطريق لتحقيق أهداف الاستدامة المنشودة للمدينة. للاطلاع على المخطط العام لمدينة مصدر، يرجى الضغط هنا:

المشاريع والمباني المستدامة


تم تشييد جميع المباني في مدينة مصدر باستخدام أسمنت منخفض الكربون، إضافة إلى الألمنيوم المعاد تدويره، حيث تبلغ نسبته 90 % من الألمنيوم المستخدم، وجميعها مصممة للحد من استهلاك الطاقة والمياه بنسبة تبلغ 40% على الأقل مقارنة مع استهلاك المباني العادية داخل مدينة أبوظبي. وتمت مراعاة معايير "نظام الريادة في تصميمات الطاقة والبيئة" LEED والمعايير الأساسية لنظام التقييم بدرجات اللؤلؤ المستخدمة لتصنيف أداء استدامة المباني ضمن برنامج "استدامة" الذي استحدثه مجلس أبوظبي للتخطيط العمراني.

 

المباني المستدامة

مجمع الاتحاد السكني المستدام
يتألف "مجمع الاتحاد السكني المستدام" من 11 مبنى، ويعدُّ أول مجمع مستدام مخصص لطواقم الضيافة الجوية يحصل على التصنيف البلاتيني بنظام ليد "LEED" (الريادة في تصميمات الطاقة والبيئة). ويضم 500 شقة بغرفة نوم واحدة وغرفتي نوم. تم تصميم كل مبنى باستخدام مواد بناء منخفضة الكربون. كما ساهمت الاستعانة بالموردين المحليين في تقليل الانبعاثات الكربونية المرتبطة بعمليات النقل.
مبنى واحة الابتكار
ويعتبر مبنى "واحة الابتكار" أول بناء للمكاتب في مدينة مصدر، ويحتوي على مساحات لمحال التجزئة والمكاتب ويضم مجموعة من الشركات تشمل الشركات الناشئة والشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة والمكاتب الإقليمية للشركات الكبيرة متعددة الجنسيات. يستخدم المبنى التصميم المبتكر والواجهات عالية الأداء وتقنيات التظليل الذكي لتقليل تكاليف التشغيل على المستأجرين.
ليوناردو ريزيدانسيز
تضم 170 وحدة سكنية بمرافق داخلية ومرآب سيارات في الطابق السفلي. ويطل هذا المجمع على أحد المتنزهات الكثيرة المنتشرة في مدينة مصدر، ومن المتوقع استكماله في صيف عام 2018.
مقر الوكالة الدولية للطاقة المتجددة (آيرينا)
تبلغ مساحة المقر الرئيسي للوكالة الدولية للطاقة المتجددة (آيرينا) 32،064 متراً مربعاً، وهو أول مبنى في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة يعتمد على نظام التقييم بدرجات اللؤلؤ المستخدمة لتصنيف أداء استدامة المباني ضمن برنامج "استدامة". يتيح التصميم المبتكر وأنظمة إدارة الطاقة الذكية في المبنى تقليل استهلاك الطاقة بنسبة 64٪ مقارنة مع المباني المكتبية العادية في مدينة أبوظبي.
حرم جامعة خليفة للعلوم والتكنولوجيا - مدينة مصدر
يعتبر حرم جامعة خليفة للعلوم والتكنولوجيا الكائن في مدينة مصدر واحداً من المباني الأساسية في المدينة ويلعب دوراً مهماً في تعزيز بنية البحث والتعليم في الجامعة، حيث يمثل الحرم الجامعي وحدة أبحاث متعددة التخصصات تعمل على اختبار تطبيقات استراتيجية يتم تنفيذها على المدى الطويل. وقد تم إنشاء مراكز الأبحاث التي تركز على الاستدامة في جامعة خليفة بشكل أساسي في حرم الجامعة التابع لمعهد مصدر داخل مدينة مصدر. وباعتباره معهداً متخصصاً في الأبحاث، يربط معهد مصدر أيضاً بين منهج البحث الأساسي والتطبيق العملي وذلك من خلال تسخير شراكاته مع عدد من المؤسسات المحلية والدولية مثل شركة مصدر.
كريبتو لابز
تمتد منشأة "كريبتو لابز" على مساحة 4200 متر مربع في مدينة مصدر، وهي عبارة عن حاضنة متكاملة للمشاريع ومركز لتسريع الاستثمارات الناشئة وبيئة للعمل المشترك ورواد الأعمال، والشركات التي تعمل على تطوير منتجات وخدمات مبتكرة تلبي متطلبات مجموعة واسعة من القطاعات والمجالات.
مبنى سيمنز الشرق الأوسط
تم تصميم المقر الرئيسي لشركة سيمنز الشرق الأوسط باستخدام مواد مستدامة وتقنيات فعالة في استخدام الطاقة. وهو أول مبنى مكاتب حاصل على التصنيف البلاتيني بنظام ليد "LEED" (الريادة في تصميمات الطاقة والبيئة) في أبوظبي، وعلى تصنيف 3 لآلئ ضمن برنامج "استدامة".
مبنى "مسرعات الأعمال "
يتمتع مبنى "مسرعات الأعمال " بموقع استراتيجي ويمكن الوصول إليه بسهولة، ويقع ضمن مرافق البحث والتطوير في مدينة مصدر، ويتألف من ثلاثة طوابق بمساحة 5000 متر مربع للطابق الأرضي.
تكنو بارك
يمثل "تكنو بارك" منصة تتيح لرواد الأعمال والطلبة تحويل أفكارهم المبتكرة إلى نماذج أولية ومنتجات. يضم "تكنو بارك" 16 حاوية شحن أعيد تكريرها لتستخدم كمكاتب أو مراكز تدريب أو متاجر تجزئة. وسوف يستضيف هذا المجمع، الذي جرى تزويده بأحدث التجهيزات، ورشات عمل تتمحور حول طيف واسع من المهارات العملية والتقنيات، من الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد مروراً بالإلكترونيات ووصولاً إلى أعمال النجارة. من المقرر افتتاح المجمع في عام 2018.
ماي سيتي سنتر مصدر
يقع مركز التسوق "ماي سيتي سنتر مصدر" في قلب مدينة مصدر، ويمتد طابقه الأرضي، الذي سيضم سوبرماركت ضخمة، على مساحة 25 ألف متر مربع. وسيوفر المركز متاجر تجزئة تقدم خدمات ومنتجات عالية الجودة، بما فيها المطاعم والمقاهي. ومن المتوقع الانتهاء من أعمال إنشاء المركز في الربع الثاني من عام 2019، ليساهم عند افتتاحه في تعزيز تجربة زوار مدينة مصدر، وتوفير وجهة مميزة للتسلية والترفيه بالنسبة إلى المقيمين.
مركز المعرفة
يعد مركز المعرفة الذي تبلغ مساحته 900 متر مربع بوابة لحرم جامعة خليفة للعلوم والتكنولوجيا الكائن في مدينة مصدر. والمركز يضم مكتبة الحرم الجامعي، ويعتبر نموذجاً للتصميم المستدام، حيث يتميز بتصميم السقف المبتكر الذي يوفر الظل ويقلل من أحمال تبريد المبنى وينظم دخول ضوء النهار الطبيعي. كما أن اتجاه المبنى يحسن من كفاءة عمل الألواح الشمسية الموجودة على السطح.

نماذج الأبنية المستدامة

مشروع الفيلا المستدامة
تعتبر الفيلا المستدامة في مدينة مصدر، الممتدة على مساحة 405 متر مربع، أول فيلا يتم تصميمها لتحقق معايير التصنيف "4 لآلئ" وفق نظام "استدامة" لتصنيف المباني والتابع لمجلس أبوظبي للتخطيط العمراني. وبذلك، ستوفر الفيلا طاقة أقل بنسبة 72%، ومياهاً أقل بنسبة 35% بالمقارنة مع الفيلات التقليدية ذات الحجم المماثل في أبوظبي، وبالتالي ستساهم في منع انبعاث ما يقدر بـ 63 طن من ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنوياً. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن تكلفة بناء الفيلا تماثل تكاليف بناء المنازل التقليدية ذات الحجم المماثل، وتتسم بانخفاض كلفة العيش فيها نظراً لكفاءتها العالية في استهلاك الطاقة والمياه.
وتم تصميم الفيلا المكونة من أربع غرف بحيث تمد الشبكة الوطنية للكهرباء بنحو 40 ألف كيلوواط ساعي من الكهرباء من خلال 87 لوحاً شمسياً تم تركيبها على السطح.
منزل "سان غوبان" متعدد وسائل الراحة
من المقرر أن يتم الانتهاء من تشييد المنزل بحلول نهاية عام 2019 ، وسوف يعرض المشروع عند اكتماله تقنيات سان غوبان الحائزة على براءة اختراع، والتي تسهم في توفير بيئة مريحة وصحية ضمن المباني. ويتمحور مفهوم "المنزل متعدد وسائل الراحة" حول فكرة أن المنازل الأكثر راحة تجعل الناس أكثر سعادة وإنتاجية، وتساعدهم على تبني أسلوب حياة أكثر استدامة. 
سيكون "المنزل متعدد وسائل الراحة" عند الانتهاء من تشييده بمثابة مركز لاستعراض تجربة الراحة متعددة الأوجه والتدريب على تقنيات وحلول شركة سان غوبان، وكذلك مكتباً لموظفي الشركة.

مرافق الطاقة المتجددة

محطة الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية
كانت محطة الطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية  بقدرة 10 ميجاواط  في مدينة مصدر أكبر مشروع للطاقة الشمسية من نوعه في الشرق الأوسط عندما تم تدشينها عام 2009. تنتج المحطة حوالي 17500 ميجاواط ساعي من الكهرباء النظيفة سنوياً وتتفادى انبعاث 15 ألف طن من غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنوياً وهو ما يعادل إزالة حوالي 3500 سيارة عن الطريق. وتتكون المحطة من 87,7 ألف لوح من الألواح الشمسية الرقيقة وخلايا السيليكون المتبلور.
برج الرياح
يعتبر برج الرياح في مدينة مصدر تطبيقاً معاصراً للبرج التقليدي المعروف باسم "البارجيل". يبلغ ارتفاع البارجيل 45 متراً ، ويلتقط رياحاً من الجزء الأعلى ويقوم بخفض درجة حرارة الهواء عبر التبريد. تعمل المجسات الموجودة في الجزء العلوي من الهيكل الفولاذي على فتح الكوّات في اتجاه الرياح السائدة، وذلك لتحويل اتجاه الرياح نحو أسفل البرج.

مشاريع قادمة

مدرسة جيمس للتعليم
تمتد على مساحة 4 هكتارات، وتعتمد المنهاج البريطاني الأساسي الذي يشمل المراحل التعليمية من الابتدائية وحتى الصف الحادي عشر، وتستوعب قرابة 2500 طالب، وستكون محور الاهتمام في المرحلة الثانية من مدينة مصدر.
مجمع سكني لمعهد مصدر (الحي الأول)
مجمع سكني ضخم متعدد الاستخدامات، من المتوقع أن ينتهي بناؤه في عام 2019. يضم المجمع أكثر من 800 وحدة سكنية حاصلة على تقييم "3 لآلئ" كحد أدنى بموجب نظام التقييم "استدامة". وسوف يضم المجمع شققاً سكنية ومكاتب ومحال تجزئة تشمل متاجر ومقاهي وسوبرماركت، تمتد على مساحة أرض إجمالية تبلغ 100 ألف متر مربع.