Masdar Special Projects: The Sheikh Zayed Solar Power Plant (Mauritania)

{imgtitle}

The Sheikh Zayed Solar Power Plant is a 15-megawatt photovoltaic facility in Nouakchott, the capital of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania. It was one of the largest solar power installations in Africa when completed and is the first such utility-scale installation in the country.

The facility accounts for 10 percent of Mauritania’s grid capacity. It produces 25,409 megawatt-hours of clean electricity annually and displaces about 21,225 tonnes of carbon dioxide per year. Manufactured by Masdar PV, the plant’s nearly 30,000 solar panels supply electricity to more than 10,000 homes in Nouakchott.

The plant has produced more energy than estimated, accounting for the annual increase in demand and resulting in additional savings. Producing more than 44 gigawatt-hours since April 2013, the plant has reduced generator load during peak sun hours, resulting in reduced power-failure rates.

The power plant is one of several Masdar-funded international projects.

Quick Facts

  • Equipment: 29,826 micromorph thin-film solar panels
  • Installed capacity: 15 megawatts
  • Solar energy penetration: 10 percent into the grid
  • Diesel fuel savings: 7 million litres annually
  • Emission reductions: 21,225 tonnes annually
  • Homes powered: more than 10,000

مشاريع "مصدر" الخاصة: "محطة الشيخ زايد للطاقة الشمسية" (موريتانيا)

{imgtitle}

تساهم "محطة الشيخ زايد للطاقة الشمسية الكهروضوئية"، التي طورتها "مصدر" في العاصمة الموريتانية نواكشوط، بتوليد 15 ميجاواط من الطاقة؛ وستصبح عند استكمالها أكبر مشاريع الطاقة الشمسية في إفريقيا وأول محطة شمسية لتوليد الكهرباء على نطاق المرافق الخدمية في البلاد.

وتمثل المحطة 10% من إجمالي قدرة شبكة الكهرباء في موريتانيا بقدرة تبلغ 25,409 ميجاواط/ساعي من الطاقة النظيفة سنوياً، وستسهم المحطة في تفادي انبعاث 21.225 طناً من ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنوياً؛ وهي تضم 30 ألف لوح شمسي زودها "مصنع مصدر للألواح الكهروضوئية" وتكفي لإمداد نحو 10 آلاف منزل في نواكشوط بالكهرباء.

وسجل إنتاج المحطة أداءً فاق التوقعات؛ حيث ساهمت بتلبية الزيادة السنوية للطلب على الطاقة مع تحقيق وفورات إضافية. وتنتج المحطة أكثر من 44 جيجاواط/ساعي منذ شهر أبريل 2013؛ كما لعبت دوراً رئيسياً في خفض الحمل الزائد عن محطات التوليد خلال ساعات الذروة نهاراً، مما أفضى إلى خفض فترات انقطاع التيار الكهربائي.

وتعد هذه المحطة من بين المشاريع العالمية العديدة التي تموّلها "مصدر".

حقائق سريعة:

  • التجهيزات: 29,826 لوحاً شمسياً رقيقاً
  • القدرة المركبة: 15 ميجاواط
  • مساهمة الطاقة الشمسية: 10% من إجمالي قدرة شبكة الكهرباء
  • وفورات وقود الديزل: 7 ملايين لتر سنوياً
  • معدل خفض الانبعاثات الكربونية: 21,225 طن سنوياً
  • عدد المنازل التي تزودها بالكهرباء: أكثر من 10 آلاف منزل